Posted by: erikmona | February 1, 2012

Stalled Out on the New 52

Image

As you’ve no doubt noticed over the last several months, I fell short of my goal of reviewing all 52 of DC’s “New 52″ titles. I underestimated the time it would take to go through each and every one of them, and I grossly overestimated the amount of free time I had to write multiple daily essays.

So yeah, sorry about that.

I AM still reading all 52 titles, and in fact plan to go to the comic store to pick up this week’s slew of #5’s in the next hour. I’m still well behind where I should be (even _reading_ this many comics takes longer than I’d anticipated), but I’ve lately been churning my way through the stack of unread comics, and have made my way up to (God help me) Catwoman. I’m going alphabetically.

This is just too many comics for any one man to read, so I plan on culling the list from 52 to something more manageable shortly. I’d like to get “caught up” to the present with all titles before I decide what to cut, but the culling will begin with my very next trip to the shop.

Things look really, really bad for Blackhawks (my vote for the comic I care about least in the entire lineup), Batman: The Dark Knight (easily the worst of the Bat-comics, with decent art but absolutely horrible storytelling), and Captain Atom (which is really, really awful).

So far (alphabetically speaking), safe comics include Action (one of my favorites), All-Star Western (likewise excellent), Animal Man (probably my favorite of the entire line), Batman (maybe the best of the Bat-books), Batman & Robin (passable), Batgirl (great art, ok story), Batwoman (GREAT), Birds of Prey (fun, but needs to get _moving_ shortly), and Blue Beetle (slightly better than average).

I’ve got the rest of Deathstroke to read tonight, but unless that one really blows me away, it’s going to take a lot to convince me that it is anything other than a brainless book for simpletons. As I do not fancy myself a simpleton, I think I’ll be dropping it.

I plan to drop updates here a bit more regularly as I churn my way through the pile.

Onward!

Responses

  1. LOL. Well, as discussed before (http://bit.ly/zAXsAB), you made it farther than I did.

  2. You should give Swamp Thing another go, it has a parallel story to Animal Man. It promises to be good.

  3. Oh, I’m definitely still reading Swamp Thing with enthusiasm. I’d put it in my Top 5, if not my Top 3.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

