Posted by: erikmona | February 27, 2012

My Adult Fantasy Collection

Here’s hoping “Adult Fantasy” racks up my google rating!

Anyway, I recently reorganized my bookshelf, and I decided to add a list of my in-progress collection of Lin Carter’s Ballantine Adult Fantasy book line. That’s Lin up there with the sweet goblet. I would have liked to have hung out with him at a convention, but alas, he’s no longer with us. When I was first fishing around a Seattle used bookstore during what turned out to be the first major paperback purchase of my collection, I picked up several books from this famous series. They’re known for their beautiful covers, and Carter’s editorial vision was to set up a new “canon” of modern fantasy. I’ve added to the collection here and there over the years, and here’s the list as it stands as of today. One day, I hope to complete the set and read all of them, but that’s essentially the quest of a lifetime.

Anderson, Poul: Hrolf Kraki’s Saga
Bok, Hannes: Beyond the Golden Stair
Bok, Hannes: The Sorcerer’s Ship
Cabell, James Branch: Figures of Earth
Cabell, James Branch: The Cream of the Jest
Cabell, James Branch: The Silver Stallion
Carter, Lin: New Worlds for Old
Carter, Lin: The Young Magicians
Carter, Lin: Dragons, Elves and Heroes
Chant, Joy: Red Moon and Black Mountain
DeCamp & Pratt: Land of Unreason
Dunsany, Lord: The Charwoman’s Shadow
Dunsany, Lord: The King of Elfland’s Daughter
Eddison, E.R.: Mistress of Mistresses
Hodgens, Richard: Orlando Furioso
Hyne, C. J. Cutliffe: The Lost Continent
Lindsay, David: A Voyage to Arcturus
Morris, William: The Wood Beyond the World
Morris, William: The Water of the Wondrous Isles
Smith, Clark Ashton: Hyperboria
Smith, Clark Ashton: Xiccarph
Smith, Clark Ashton: Zothique
Walton, Evangeline: The Island of the Mighty

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

